Share it with your friends Like

Thanks! Share it with your friends!

Close
We are here to help you learn to garden. This site is chock full of videos to do just that. Thanks for looking and enjoy!



We are a gateway site for the amazing gardener, horticulturist, garden office builder and landscape gardener Laura Lyons who is a registered member of the UK Gardeners Guild. She is more than happy to advise on any garden project, large or small, within her working area. References are available for her previous work involving garden play equipment, forts, zip slides, greenhouses, sheds, raised beds, fences and hedge creation and maintenance, coppicing, ponds and drainage, garden offices, greenhouse, plant and soil advice, landscaping and borders, hahas and orchard management amongst all other aspects of her work.



If you click away from our site to any of our affiliate partners we may earn a small percentage of any subsequent purchase you may make without raising the price to you. Thank you.



Lettuce can be a really easy crop to grow, especially here in San Diego. There are a few things that you need to know for a successful harvest:

-Lettuce can be direct sown or transplanted. We prefer the latter since it’s easy to keep a flat nice and moist for the seedlings, or we can move the tray if needed.

-Once a nice rootball has developed, it’s ready to go in the ground! Be sure to keep it well watered, especially if there is warm weather. Don’t be afraid to thin your seedlings.

-Be mindful of where you are planting and what your climate is like! Here in San Diego, we can get warm days in December so we plant lettuce where it can receive some shade and relief from hot days.

-Have questions? Let us know, refer to our planting calendar, and ask local gardeners!

Get stocked up here!
Red Sails Lettuce Seed: https://sandiegoseedcompany.com/shop/red-sails-lettuce-seed/
Little Gem Lettuce Seed: https://sandiegoseedcompany.com/shop/little-gem-lettuce-seed/
Great Lakes Lettuce Seed: https://sandiegoseedcompany.com/shop/great-lakes-lettuce-seed/
Organic Great Lakes Lettuce Seeds: https://sandiegoseedcompany.com/shop/lettuce-grand-rapids/
Marvel of Four Seasons Lettuce Seed: https://sandiegoseedcompany.com/shop/marvel-of-four-seasons-lettuce-seed/
Organic Jericho Lettuce Seed: https://sandiegoseedcompany.com/shop/lettuce-romaine-jericho/
Parris Island Cos Romaine Lettuce Seed: https://sandiegoseedcompany.com/shop/paris-island-cos-romaine-lettuce-seed/
Organic Black Seeded Simpson Lettuce: https://sandiegoseedcompany.com/shop/lettuce-black-seeded-simpson/
Salad Bowl Mix Lettuce Seed: https://sandiegoseedcompany.com/shop/lettuce-salad-bowl/
Organic Amaze Lettuce Seeds: https://sandiegoseedcompany.com/shop/lettuce-amaze/
2017 Lettuce Variety Trial Winner: https://sandiegoseedcompany.com/2017-lettuce-variety-trial-winner/
Organic Buttercrunch Lettuce Seed: https://sandiegoseedcompany.com/shop/lettuce-butter-crunch-butterhead/
Organic Freckles Lettuce Seeds: https://sandiegoseedcompany.com/shop/cool-season-crops/lettuce-freckles/






If you click away from our site to any of our affiliate partners we may earn a small percentage of any subsequent purchase you may make without raising the price to you. Thank you.

Comments

Deborah From DC's Peterson City Homestead says:

Nice soil?!! That's fantastic looking soil!!! Hello from Deborah in Harbor City, California.

Jean Gorrin says:

I just started in this channel since viewing Epic Gardener channel because you guys are in zone 10. I'm in Miami which is also zone 10. I'm excited that today I got my order from you guys. Not much information out there for zone 10 other than experimenting and researching. Keep up the great work!

Write a comment

*